Skip to content

Long long winter

February 6, 2014

Hi! Sorry we’ve been so m.i.a. this winter. I don’t think there’ve been four consecutive days where all members of the Wesson house have been healthy since November and it’s been a pretty draining winter. I know I’m not the only one who’s finding it hard to find the energy for anything but the survival basics.
Oliver is great. He’s the cutest, sweetest, busiest little boy. He’s smart and sweet and funny and fun. He loves to make people smile and is really in to telling everyone what all the animals are called… when he’s not suffering from the mommy-itis. He’s got a pretty serious case of that 😉
He still loves nothing more than to twirl his hair when he’s sleepy even after his first haircut and his favourite person in the world is Sister. She feels the same way about Baby Brother. He loved Christmas, New year’s, the ice storm and daddy being home for the holidays.
Oliver went to England for the first time in November. It was so nice for him to meet my whole family and we had such a great time in spite of the sad circumstances (my grandad went to be with my grandma). I wish we’d gone sooner but it was wonderful watching my confident little girl explain England to him with her wealth of experience and he took to his British family the same way all of us Canadian transplants have… like there never was an ocean between us.
RSV went through Poppy’s preschool and I lived in terror but was comforted when we brought him to CDH clinic and Dr Chiu told me that it looks like a cold, he’s had it and he’s survived it. She said its a great sign and it has taken a little bit of the fear away. We’re still doing our best to avoid it but knowing his little lung (and the little nub that could… it’s maybe growing!) is strong enough to kick both CDH and RSV butt and that’s really reassuring.
He rocked his 18 month developmental clinic, solving problems, walking up stairs and basically just proving what we already suspected. He’s above average 😉 Ping, his wonderful nurse practitioner, came to see us. I emailed her last night because he’s been throwing up since Sunday. His CDH team is trying to wean him off one of his reflux meds, and it seems like he’s just not ready for it yet. We’re going to try again later but for now he’s going to go back to his regular doses. I was so scared last night, on the phone with Dr Erin who was kind enough to call from Calgary to help ease my mind that he wasn’t reherniating, didn’t have a bowel obstruction, didn’t have meningitis, wasn’t having migraine induced vomiting…. The internet is a scary place for an anxious mom at one in the morning. So on the bright side it is nice that we got to see Ping in person and she could look at him and reassure me that his breathing was normal. While hooked up to a monitor. I think I might actually sleep tonight. If I can get past the guilt.
So, that’s the Ollie update. He’s great. He loves his grandparents and trucks and chocolate and is a really normal, ridiculously awesome little boy who I am in awe of every single day. I love this little snuggle monkey and I’m so thankful that you do too.
Xo

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

From → Uncategorized

10 Comments
  1. Lyn permalink

    I can’t imagine your fear driving to the ER. My heart skipped a few beats just reading about it. Bottom line though, kids, esp. toddlers will find that 1 thing that EVERY parent misses. Doesn’t make you a bad parent, just human.

    Loved hearing that everyone’s doing so well. I do love my Ollie updates!

  2. Ann Friedman permalink

    Hi Alex,

    Wonderful story of winter in Toronto with your family. Spring will be so welcome this year!

    I know the feeling of being a Mom who’s not watching for a critical second quite close enough. I remember putting Julia in a baby seat when she was about 9 months old, placing it on a chair near me while I was making dinner, and not strapping my newly-wiggly little girl. I’ll always remember seeing her slip on to the tiled floor in slow motion while I dove to try to catch her. She was fine, and I caught her head before it hit the floor, but 21 years later the incident is imbedded in my memory and served to keep me on my toes a bit more. Happily we humans are pretty resilient. Julia has the opposite reaction to medicine – though much of it is colorful and fruit-flavored and hard to tell from candy. She would not take her medicine even with the most insistent urging on my part. This worked in her favor during those high school years. 😉

    Best wishes to you and Tim – Julia says you are the coolest parents. The kids look awesome and super cuddly. Enjoy these precious days with your lovely family and hope to see you all in person on some warm day in Toronto soon.

    Love and best wishes,

    Ann

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. Like others have said, life is unpredictable and no parent can foresee everything. I fell down the stairs with Clara when she was almost 2 and it broke her leg. I will live with that forever. We’re all just trying our very best. Oliver looks so healthy and beautiful, as does Poppy. I hope you sleep tonight. Allison

  4. LOVE HEARING THIS!! You all look amazing!! ❤

  5. Alex….
    I am sorry that you have suffered through an unhealthy Winter!! Not. Fun. We have experienced some colds, bugs and viruses over here, as well…. 😉
    Please accept my most heartfelt condolences for the loss of your Grandad. 😦
    Wait. What?! Oliver’s little nub might be growing?! Thanks be to God!! ;-D
    What a terrifying story!! Toddlers can get themselves into trouble so very fast!! Blink and they’ve encountered danger!! You are not a “bad parent”, although I completely understand your thoughts/feelings/emotions. They’re valid. Trust me. Thanks be to God that Oliver is fine!! ;-D
    “While we are here Ping, his wonderful nurse practitioner, came to see us. I emailed her last night because he’s been throwing up since Sunday. His CDH team is trying to wean him off one of his reflux meds, and it seems like he’s just not ready for it yet. We’re going to try again later but for now he’s going to go back to his regular doses. I was so scared last night, on the phone with Dr Erin who was kind enough to call from Calgary to help ease my mind that he wasn’t reherniating, didn’t have a bowel obstruction, didn’t have meningitis, wasn’t having migraine induced vomiting…. The internet is a scary place for an anxious mom at one in the morning. So on the bright side it is nice that we got to see Ping in person and she could look at him and reassure me that his breathing was normal. While hooked up to a monitor. I think I might actually sleep tonight.”. Thanks be to God!! ;-D
    –Raelyn

  6. It has been one month since you last posted on this Blog!! I am missing Oliver, my Kindred Spirit CDH Buddy!! And his sister, as well!! Life has been seemingly busy for me lately. I wrote a fictional children’s story for March to post on my Blog, “Minuscule is good!”. We have been watching my two-year old niece, “Amethyst”, once a week. How are you, Friend? 😉
    –-Raelyn

  7. It has been two months since you last posted on this Blog!! I am missing Oliver, my Kindred Spirit CDH Buddy!! And his sister, as well!! How is Life? I just posted my April fictional children’s story on my Blog, Minuscule is good! !! 😉
    Love you later, Raelyn

  8. It has been over three months since you last posted on this Blog!! I am missing Oliver, my Kindred Spirit CDH Friend!! And his brother, as well!! 😉
    Love you later, Raelyn

  9. I am sorry for being away all these months!! I’ve missed every single Blog that I read/comment on!! It feels so good to be back!! At last!! ;-D
    I am missing my Kindred Spirit CDH Buddy, Oliver!! I do hope that Life is treating you well and God’s blessings have flowed upon your family!! 😉
    Love you later, Raelyn

Leave a Reply

