Skip to content

Oliver’s October

November 7, 2013

We were so honoured this month to be asked to speak at the annual Respiratory Therapists awards ceremony. I’m not much of a public speaker and wasn’t sure I’d be able to make it on time because I had a work commitment in the morning, so I put together a 9 minute video instead. I cry when I do public speaking and I’m a huge believer in the power of images so a video felt like a better choice anyway.

You can watch it here

We also had an amazing halloween. Poppy was a bug and Oliver dressed up as a duck (without a beak because he refused to wear the hat) and by the end of trick or treating (with nurse Steph from his time in the surgical wards!) he was an old pro, helping himself to multiple candy bars and putting them in his bucket with glee. SO freakin adorable.

He’s still working on walking, he’s 100% capable and sometimes he’ll just walk across a room but most of the time he prefers to crawl, probably because he’s so darn fast at it.

He caught a cold last month (Poppy’s in preschool afterall!) and is still trying to recover from the cough, but with just one lung it takes him a bit longer than other kids. It’s not keeping him up at night anymore so we’re happy with that.

Hope everyone is doing great!

 

IMG_0261

IMG_0275

IMG_0277

IMG_0284

IMG_0293

IMG_0299

IMG_0303

IMG_0304

IMG_0313

IMG_0317

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. “He’s still working on walking, he’s 100% capable and sometimes he’ll just walk across a room but most of the time he prefers to crawl, probably because he’s so darn fast at it.”. Good job, Oliver!! Keep it up!! ;-D
    “He caught a cold last month (Poppy’s in preschool afterall!) and is still trying to recover from the cough, but with just one lung it takes him a bit longer than other kids. It’s not keeping him up at night anymore so we’re happy with that.”. I hope that Oliver continue to get well!! 😉
    –Raelyn

  2. Gail Lawson permalink

    I do not think that I ever let you know what an amazing job you did on this video, & wonderful to see Oliver so happy. Gail Lawson Date: Thu, 7 Nov 2013 15:00:06 +0000 To: gailawson@hotmail.com

  3. Happy Thanksgiving, Friends!! 😉
    –Raelyn

  4. It has been one month since you last posted on this Blog!! I am missing Oliver, my Kindred Spirit CDH Buddy!! Are you guys waving your Holiday Freak Flags around there? We are!! 😉
    –Raelyn

  5. Just stopping by to wish you a Merry Christmas!! 😉
    –Raelyn

  6. I just posted a fictional children’s story about this character who was born with CDH on my Blog, “Minuscule is good!”. { http://writing–projects.blogspot.com/ } Check it out if you would like!! And maybe leave a comment so I know you visited? Raising CDH awareness with something I can do…. Writing!! I hope you enjoy it!! 😉
    –Raelyn

  7. It has been two months since you last posted on this Blog!! I am missing Oliver, my Kindred Spirit CDH Buddy!! I hope your Christmas was Merry!! Happy 2014!!
    –Raelyn

Leave a Reply

