Skip to content

6 Months of Adorable!

January 30, 2013

Oliver’s been discharged from Dr Himidan’s clinic! Now he gets to go to regular CDH clinics. It’s a graduation of sorts, and it’s super exciting! Except we’ll miss seeing her. Dr Himidan promised to come visit us at regular clinic though. We’ll have to go less frequently too, which all of us are looking forward to.

On Monday Oliver didn’t poo. Totally normal but for a CDH mom, terrifying. I was up all night terrified of bowel obstructions and surgery and the like. Luckily a bit of prunes and some extra water got things going but it made me realize that as normal as he is, he’s not. Life will never be normal again. Because a bowel obstruction, reherniating, scoliosis, these are all real possibilities. It’s hard to balance my crazy person anxiety with my CDH reasonable anxiety. Deciding if I’m being crazy or justified will be a challenge for the rest of my life I think.

We are going back to my friend Alex’s place in the Dominican and I am SO excited! Sadly it’s not March break this year, so Tim can’t come, but my mom will be joining us and after this year she could use the break as well! I had a mini breakdown in the passport office. Last year when we went I was so sad. I was sure I was pregnant with a baby I’d have to say goodbye to. I was positive that was the only Dominican experience he was ever going to have. I had a very heavy heart. Getting a passport for my perfect baby to come play in the sun, sand and surf was so incredibly monumental. So I turned in to a blubbering idiot. I was a little worried they wouldn’t give me a passport due to my obvious insanity. But it came in the mail today so maybe I did a better job of acting normal than I thought πŸ˜‰

Oliver is awesome. He’s just awesome. Sometimes I feel like an idiot because that’s all I really have to say. But I don’t mean awesome in a “check out this awesome cat video on YouTube” way. I mean awe inspiring. I mean being in his presence changes you. I mean his existence represents so much and so many people and such a miracle that he is, simply, awesome. Except when he screams for no apparent reason. Then he’s just a regular baby.

I’m his mom so I’m obsessed with him. He has the greatest smile, his eyes crinkle in a way that makes you think he’s wise beyond his years. He babbles with the best of them. Tim doesn’t think he means it, but this kid says dada all day long. And Tim’s at work, so nuts to that, he totally means it. He is a master of the jumperoo (circle of neglect… Side effect of being #2). He learned how to shake his head no and click his tongue last week and he is VERY proud of himself. As he should be πŸ˜‰

For Oliver’s birthday, July 2nd, we are going to set up a donation for the Sick Kids PICU instead of our spoiled baby getting any more stuff. Just a thought to keep in mind if you’re starting to plan your charitable giving for the year.

Xo

20130130-153324.jpg

20130130-153346.jpg

20130130-153402.jpg

20130130-153425.jpg

20130130-155227.jpg

20130130-155246.jpg

20130130-155309.jpg
Riding the (highly sanitized) car cart at Home Depot!

20130130-155452.jpg
Fort fun!

From → Uncategorized

18 Comments
  1. Celia permalink

    OMG that is the best passport picture ever!! I love this post! Thank you for it! Have fun in the DR!!!! Jealous!!!

  2. Alex. I think I love you. This: “It’s hard to balance my crazy person anxiety with my CDH reasonable anxiety. Deciding if I’m being crazy or justified will be a challenge for the rest of my life I think.” Word.

    Love reading about how well Oliver is doing and how you are managing everything. Love that you blubbered randomly at passport office. Love that Oliver is awe-some… I so get that magic that you described. Makes me happy for you. And also makes me feel less alone on this CDH journey. Sister on.

    Corinne
    Mama to Samuel, lcdh, Feb1.11

  3. Ann Friedman permalink

    Hi Alex, Tim, Poppy and Ollie,

    So wonderful to hear that you’re all doing well. I think that you’re ALL awesome. So great that you’re going to the DR (Dominican Republic) to enjoy some R and R.
    I always say to the non-believers in the Canadian medical system down here in USA (hope Obama can help us!) that Ollie is a great example of how the system works. He’s a miracle (as we all are) and reminds me, as you point out, of all that’s right with the world.
    Have a great vacation. Xoxo

  4. Although I have no children of my own, I’ve been making annual donations to Sick Kids since the 1980’s, and now I finally get to see the result. It pleases me no end to see your most beautiful son, Alex. Thanks ever so much for sharing.

  5. Michelle Goleski... permalink

    I’m so glad to hear that all is going well… Have a great time in the DR…

  6. CDH babies are special. And magical. And miraculous. And awesome. Also–your kids are freaking adorable. As are you πŸ™‚

  7. Paula permalink

    That is one awesome passport pic.

    Alex, I have been thinking a lot about the normal vs CDH this past week. My 5 year old had 2 isolated incidents of vomiting (in his sleep) combined with a loss of appetite for a week. Any other kid you could put it down to a tummy bug, right? The great thing to remember is Sick Kids is always there for us. One call to Ping (which she returned same day) left me feeling much better. She offered to get him in next day or at the next clinic depending on how I thought he was doing.

    You do learn to balance it and go with your gut. We made few trips to the ER for vomiting those first 2 years and then one last year for several days of no poop (turned out to be your typical constipation, but the docs ruled out bowel obstruction first). Prunes and prune juice have always been are go to.

    Thrilled for you guys going on vacation. Enjoy every moment of the sun, surf, and sand. This time you can enjoy the trip with a lighter heart because the little guy inside you last year is thriving!

    Showed my guy a pic of yours and he says he is so cute and was impressed that he was born with a mixed up tummy just like him.

  8. Mom of two permalink

    An amazing family and an amazing little boy!! I’m so happy for you that you get a much deserved vacation. I hope Ollie loves the water!! πŸ™‚

  9. Jessica Casey permalink

    LOVE LOVE LOVE the photos. Thank you for sharing! Oliver is freaking adorable and always has such a wonderful smile on his face. Glad to hear things are still going well and looking forward to continued updates as Oliver explores the world.

    From my Oliver (July 4th) to yours, Happy New Year and may 2013 bring you endless joy!

  10. Gail Lawson permalink

    Thanks for this very uplifting blog, & that little Oliver is amazing, but so are his parents & sister. Gail Date: Wed, 30 Jan 2013 20:56:16 +0000 To: gailawson@hotmail.com

  11. I just discovered your Blog. I, too was born with a diaphragmatic hernia, among other birth defects. I am now 29 years old. I love, love, love to write!! And, I enjoy singing. It sets my soul free somehow. People say that I am good…. πŸ˜‰
    Oliver is adorable!! Beautiful in more ways than one. No, wait. As my phrase goes, he is Beautifully Unique!! ;-D
    I will be praying for Oliver’s continued good health!! πŸ˜‰
    Keep posting. I want to watch Oliver grow up!! ;-D
    “I (we) shouldn’t be alive… unless it were for a reason.” ~Tony Stark
    –Raelyn

  12. Thank you for sharing your story, I cant remember where I first came accross your site, but I was pregnant at that time with almost the same due date as you. I had my baby boy the 14th of july, my first baby. Your life story and experience has made me preciate my life more, to relax and enjoy beiing a mom to a wonderful boy.
    IΒ΄ll keep reading your posts for as long as you write, keep on going, Oliver, your little miracle is so lucky to have you as parents.

    Rebekka, ReykjavΓ­k, Iceland.

  13. Belle Sandella permalink

    This is the most beautiful heartfelt update πŸ™‚
    Thank you for continuing to share your inspirational, beautiful, handsome and miraculous little warrior Ollie Boy with us. He melts me πŸ™‚

  14. Laura permalink

    I love the happy posts and gorgeous photos! Your family is beautiful, and exudes joy and love!!! πŸ™‚ God bless you all and have a FAB time in the DR! Oh, Oliver, you ham you!

  15. Happy Valentine’s Day!! ;-D
    –Raelyn

  16. There have not been any new Blog posts lately!! I am missing Oliver, my Kindred Spirit CDH Buddy!! I hope that he is staying healthy and thriving!! πŸ˜‰
    –Raelyn

  17. I am still missing Oliver, my Kindred Spirit CDH Buddy!! πŸ˜‰
    –Raelyn

Leave a Reply

