Skip to content

NYE at SK ER: Jan 1, 2013

January 1, 2013

How was your New Year’s Eve? Ours was exciting. Oliver decided he wanted to end the year the way he’d started it. At Sick Kids. So in spite of my couch-centric plans, I headed out on the town with a gorgeous boy 😉

Oliver’s had a cold since Saturday. It kept getting worse, his cough was terrible and his breathing rate was getting higher and higher. Eventually I posted about it on Facebook and immediately Dr Erin and Dr Langer via his amazing daughter Jess were on the phone telling me to go to the hospital. Better safe than sorry. So off we went like good little patients.

Simply being here cured him immediately. We walked in and saw nurse Irene and RT Christina from our PICU days and Oliver was all batting eyelashes and mischievous grins. They didn’t believe me he was sick. 3 hours in to our ER wait I also decided he wasn’t sick and got up to go home. The second the stroller hit the atrium though, Oliver erupted in a fit of death cough so around we spun, back to our room for another 2 hours. Sigh. Emergency rooms at the holidays…

He’s happy and cute, but his poor little voice is gone and he’s a hacking monster. All of which he showed off for the doctors. His oxygen saturation was only 86% when it should be 100. We were hoping for mechanical error, and while we waited for a new machine we headed off for a chest X-ray. His lungs sound fine but thanks to his 38 ventilated days Oliver gets the full work up. You can imagine how much he loved the X-ray tube at 2:30 in the morning. Still waiting for the other pulse ox machine to show up I got myself a bit worked up. But then in a moment of uncharacteristic cleverness I had an idea. Assuming my oxygenation is pretty good I could use myself as a control and test the machine! Well I only scored an 84 so Little Man is doing better than his mama. And I could relax and have a Diet Pepsi. His chest X-ray came back fine, and after a few changes his sats were perfect and we were sent on our merry way to collapse in to bed and not wake up til next year.

So we are safe, not sorry, and totally ready to say goodbye to 2012. Happy New Year!

20130101-040615.jpg
Sick

20130101-040640.jpg
New Years Eve, woot woot!

20130101-040710.jpg
So tired

20130101-040729.jpg
All done!

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. Lani permalink

    Poor little dude. I hope he’s on the mend quickly. Sending you guys love for the new year! xox

  2. oonagh permalink

    oh honey. cant believe you were there so long! happy 2013!

  3. Mom of two permalink

    So glad to hear he’s ok. I hope you’ll all get a chance to get some rest and that Ollie is feelingh better today.

  4. Touched by your story permalink

    omg what an ordeal. but i love that it doesn’t sound as if he required a whole lot of medical intervention given how sick he was and has been. i also luv your clever and very scientific method of proving that the freaken pulse ox machine was defective @#$!. It’s good that you went tho. Better safe than sorry – and how much safer can one get than being at Sick Kids. Wishing all of you a calmer 2013 and lots of good health for Ollie and the whole family.

  5. jayme permalink

    You guys at sick kids and I at Sunnybrook. My sats dropped to 88 with complications due to my autoimmune illnesses bp and heatrate through the roof. Pretty scary stuff huh. I was admitted in isolation. This virus going around is brutal. I’m an very relieved to hear Oliver is ok and safe. Happy New Years Wesson family. Lots of love The Lunt family. XOXO

  6. Gail Lawson permalink

    Thanks for the update, & I am so relieved that Ollie seems to be doing ok now, but he sure does like to scare us. I loved all of the cute pictures. HAPPY NEW YEAR TO THE FAMILY , & hope that 2013 is a lot less stressful for all of you. Love Gail Lawson Date: Tue, 1 Jan 2013 09:08:28 +0000 To: gailawson@hotmail.com

  7. Gail Lawson permalink

    Thanks for the update, & I am so relieved that Ollie seems to be doing ok now, but he sure does like to scare us. I loved all of the cute pictures. HAPPY NEW YEAR TO THE FAMILY , & hope that 2013 is a lot less stressful for all of you. Love Gail Lawson Date: Tue, 1 Jan 2013 09:08:28 +0000 To: gailawson@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

