Skip to content

Truly Truly Tubeless: Sept 7, 2012

September 8, 2012

It’s really happening. We are really actually inching closer and closer to the door of Sick Kids. It has been an insane day. Teaching from the dietician Beth about how to make the portagen ($250 for a one month supply – holy.) and pharmacist Sabrina about giving him his reflux meds and enoxaparin injections. Ultrasound and good long talks with Dr Thrombosis before deciding to continue the enoxaparin because the ultrasound wasn’t quite 100% conclusive. With Oliver, erring on the side of caution is best. At first Dr T said we’d discontinue the shots. But he came back half an hour later and said the niggling voice in his head was telling him to keep treating. We needed to do his car seat test, so Allie brought Oonagh’s car seat down because Oliver’s is in our car, at work with Tim! He passed! I had approximately one million talks with Ping. About coming for clinic, when to worry (green puke, turns blue, any sort of fall – thanks enox) and when not to (turns red from crying, throws up a little). I booked his well baby visit with our pediatrician! Crazy!

Oliver passed his eating challenge and got his NG tube out! He is a NORMAL baby now. No tubes. Just Oliver. I was chatting with a lady in line at Starbucks today. I had Ollie in one arm and was getting my money all ready with my other arm and the hand from the Oliver arm. She said she works with new parents all the time & could tell this wasn’t my first. We laughed and chatted and then she said she felt sad because my older baby must be in the hospital. I was so excited to tell her that no, Oliver’s the sick one! She couldn’t tell! He looks like a normal, healthy boy! What a miracle. That sick little newborn who spent 38 days on a ventilator is now a reasonably robust little 2 month old! What a miracle!

Ping texted a photo of tube-less Ollie to Dr Himidan and she didn’t even recognize him. When Ping said it was Oliver she came running upstairs to see for herself. I can’t even describe her. When she’s around, it’s like you’re in a room with Mother Theresa or something. She is so calm and loving and peaceful. It’s amazing to be near her and to watch her love on my baby! She held him for a while, and I marveled that her hands had been inside his body, literally pulling his liver down and putting it where it’s meant to be, REARRANGING HIS INTESTINES! She told Oliver she can’t wait to hand her practice over to him when he becomes Dr Wesson Jr and he can fix CDH babies too! It sure would make parents feel confident if their babies surgeon showed them his big old scar before wheeling their CDHer off to the OR!

This weekend we switch to parent care. No nurses, just us. If that goes well and Oliver doesn’t pull any crazy drama… Let’s just say its time to get the house ready. Caroline’s BF Chris painted the nursery yellow today. My mom is currently giving our house a head to toe scouring. I brought up all the baby stuff. Tim put the swing together. Sara’s organizing all kinds of little important things like preemie nipples. Soon. Soon! Xo

20120907-214214.jpg
Get me outta here!

20120907-214235.jpg
I did it! (Tim got 110 mls in him tonight)

20120907-214313.jpg

20120907-214328.jpg

20120907-214413.jpg

20120907-214433.jpg

From → Uncategorized

25 Comments
  1. TNixon permalink

    I have been reading your blog every day and, especially today, I have tears in my eyes. You are so blessed to have a wonderful family and the angels of Sick Kids all loving and fighting for Oliver. Our prayers will continue for his recovery. I hope that your return home is uneventful and peaceful. You are all earned it.

  2. raffelsol permalink

    Oh my… what beautiful pictures! Wonderful news. More prayers sent for Oliver’s recovery!!

  3. WOW just what I needed today- dose of confidence!!! Good luck and am going to sleep happy that my baby would come home too!!!!

  4. Nancy permalink

    To go home soon!!!! (sorry MSG sent before I finished :)!!)

  5. jtommasello permalink

    I’ve been following your blog every day (from bbc birth board). I’m so happy for all of you! What a miracle Oliver is…God is great!

  6. My mom says she knew her birthday would be good luck 🙂 From your second CDH appointment on my birthday to a miracle on my mom’s…Oliver has come a long way! So much love xoxo

  7. Ann permalink

    I love the color photo of Ollie in the “Happy” t-shirt. He looks really proud to have put up with everything he went through. He’s certainly an inspiration for being content just to be alive and kicking! Who knew that I could have learn so much from someone who has not yet learned to speak! What a blessing he is to all of us who have followed his story. Good luck with bringing him home! xo

  8. Mom of two permalink

    What an incredible and beautiful little miracle boy you have Alex. I read your blog daily, always excited for the new updates, and I continue to be blown away by the enormous amount of strength such a tiny person can possess. And you, Poppy and Tim-such loving, positive, good-hearted people, you deserve to have him home so much!. Your story is not only amazing and inspirational, it’s proof that miracles do happen. I’m so excited and happy for your family!!! And thank you so so much for sharing your story with all of us-I have never not known a person and yet felt like I’ve known them my whole life!! 🙂
    Ps. My son had to see Dr. Himidan as a baby. She is not only one of the best doctors, she is a wonderful human being!

  9. such an exciting update – here’s to smooth sailing in the home stretch!! sending so much love & light for his continue recovery. what a handsome little miracle you’ve got on your hands!!

  10. Touched by your story permalink

    omg – the day you have been dreaming of for 2 months. i knew he could i knew he could i knew he could i knew he would!!!!!! I hope this isn’t gonna be good bye to your fan club. cuz I for one am a fan for life.

  11. Lyn permalink

    Oh to truly be able to see that darling face!!! What a remarkable journey Oliver has led everyone on!! He is blessed. You’ll continue to be in my daily thoughts and prayers. I know once you’re home, finding time to update your blog may be hard, but I hope you can. Your Lil Olie will always be special to many who’ve followed his story.

  12. Oh yeah! NG tube out ! One step closer to home!!

  13. louise boucher permalink

    Way to go Oliver, way to go Wessons. Such wonderful news tube free, truly independence day!!
    I’am sure its scary and exciting all at the same time. Keeping you close in my prayers Nannalou

  14. Michelle Goleski... permalink

    I’m so happy for you guys… Oliver is adorable… I’m praying that everything works out for you… xox

  15. Audrey permalink

    There are tears in my eyes. I am so happy for you, Oliver and the whole family

  16. Vanessa permalink

    This is the best thing I’ve ever read. My family is so happy for the Wesson family. Way to go Oliver!!

  17. Belle permalink

    Ollie Boy is our hero!!! It’s with tears that we send our heartfelt congrats to all of you. Ollie’s pics are amazing and so are all of you and everyone at Sick Kids. We continue to keep Ollie in our thoughts and prayers.

  18. Rachael Morhall permalink

    WELL DONE OLIVER!!! You are amazing little man.x

  19. Laura permalink

    What GREAT news!!! It’s unbelievable really! He is truly a miracle. And those pictures are amazing! He looks like he’s just been home with his loving mama the entire time. YAY! So exciting!!!

  20. Gail Lawson permalink

    Amazsing news again. Oliver looks so cute & healthy, & no tubes. Hope that the weekend goes well. Love Gail Lawson

    Date: Sat, 8 Sep 2012 01:50:45 +0000 To: gailawson@hotmail.com

  21. Beth permalink

    I’ve been following your blog for months now and I’m so inspired by your strength and courage! Sending prayers your way!

  22. Rejeanne permalink

    We are so happy for all of you…the prayers are working! He is the most adorable little munchkin. We can’t wait to meet him and get some snuggles!

  23. Tia permalink

    Yay OLLIE!

  24. Bambie permalink

    Absolutely wonderful news!!!

  25. Tanya permalink

    I just gotta say….I have goosebumps and watery eyes at the same time!!!! I think the time is closer than we think……****thumbs up, high fives and hugz

Leave a Reply

