Skip to content

He’s a Miracle: Aug 18, 2012

August 18, 2012

My baby shouldn’t be alive. He was born with a third of a lung and all of his organs in his chest, for crying out loud! Can you even believe I am sitting here, 47 days in to this journey, rocking my baby while I give him a bottle? I don’t care if you believe it is through God’s grace, the goodness of the universe, or just the miracles of modern medicine, there is no denying that this day and every single day that I get with my Oliver is a MIRACLE! A beautiful, adorable, snuggly, giant-eyed miracle. We are so incredibly blessed. I am so incredibly blessed. Between my incredible friends, the worlds greatest family, my mind-blowing parents and sisters, a daughter I’m obsessed with, and the most amazing man I’ve ever met as my husband, I can’t believe that I am so lucky to get to have my Oliver as well. But here I am. And here he is. And it’s awesome.

Breathing is still fast but je seems OK with it. They are repeating Oliver’s X-ray tomorrow, it looks ok (I’m guessing? Haven’t seen any doctors since rounds – before his X-ray), but they’re keeping a close watch. Slave Tim (he introduced himself to us the day Ollie was born, it was a holiday and he said Dr Langer wasn’t in but he was, because he’s his slave, he’s actually a doctor) said that if the chyle looks like its going away he might maybe get breast milk soon. I’m not getting too excited yet. He’s taking about 30 mls by bottle at each meal now, the rest is going in his tube. Slow and steady wins the race. Xo

20120818-162126.jpg

20120818-162133.jpg

20120818-162147.jpg

20120818-162158.jpg
Tummy time, lol

20120818-162230.jpg

20120818-164322.jpg
Oliver’s awesome, amazing nurse, Sam, finagled him a proper baby crib!

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Lani permalink

    He is a miracle Alex and he is sooo lucky to have such amazing parents and an amazing sister! Hugs!!! xoox

  2. he is an amazing, beautiful miracle who is going to do incredible things in this world 🙂

  3. Lyn permalink

    Oliver is a miracle! Praise the Lord. May he grow into the man that God intends him to be. And, yes, you are incredibly blessed with a beautiful little boy.

  4. Oliver really is an “old soul” as they say. Looking at these pictures, it’s amazing to see how aware he looks and how much he’s grown. Blessings to you all.

  5. Bambie permalink

    He sure is!

  6. Touched by your story permalink

    Ya, he was put on this earth as a miracle boy cuz he’s really going to achieve great things. He does look like an “old soul”. And he looks sooo amazingly cozy clutching onto mama’s chest. Precious, miraculous moments. There’ll be more….

  7. Mom of two permalink

    What a precious little boy!! What a precious picture of you and him-so serene and so happy. You and your family deserve all the happiness in the world Alex. And I hope more and more people get to read your blog so they can see what true inspiration, strength and power of love really are. I have a son who is 10 months older than Poppy and my little girl is 9 months older than Ollie and I love them more than anything. But reading your blog continues to remind me how precious life is and how grateful we should be. And not that i wasn’t grateful before, but now I give them that extra kiss and hug at night…and in the morning…and anytime I look at them, so thank you so much for sharing your story. I continue to pray for Ollie, for him to get better, so you can enjoy both your beautiful kids from the comfort of your own home. Go Ollie go!!

  8. louise boucher permalink

    Dear Ones everything is starting to look so normal. Oh a miracle indeed. What wonders prayer,
    love, and support from family and around the world can do.Keep up your wonderfuly positive attitude Alex, it
    is nothing short of miraculous you can do so under all the trying circumstances you all have been through. You are such an inspiration to all of us here in blogging land.
    Love Nannalou

  9. Horray!! He’s in a big boy bed now! He looks wonderful with his big, round eyes wide open! I will keep praying for Ollie and for you, Alex and Tim and Poppy. xo

Leave a Reply

