Skip to content

A Blessing for Oliver Lawrence

July 15, 2012

I know we don’t all believe in the same religions, and I really hope I don’t offend anyone by posting this, but it means a lot to me. I promised to post it a few days ago. Feel free to skip it if it’s not your cup of tea. No updates here 🙂

Thanks to Michael Marshall for this.

A Blessing for Oliver Lawrence

Leader: In the presence of God whose word has called the stars into being.
All: We stand in awe.

Leader: In the presence of God whose arms have held children, whose eyes have sparkled with laughter.
All: We stand in trust.

Leader: In the presence of God whose breath has stirred within us and caused our hearts to thirst for love.
All: We stand in need.

All: The Lord is my Shepard, I’ll not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside still waters. He restores my soul; and guides me along the paths of righteousness For His own Name’s sake. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death Yet I will fear no evil; for You are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. You spread a table before me in the presence of those who trouble me; You have anointed my head with oil, and my cup overflows. Surely your goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life. And I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.

Leader: O God, you are the creator and healer, we ask you to look with mercy on your child, Oliver Lawrence. Protect him from all danger and strengthen him, through your love and grace, Amen.

Leader: Loving Creator, source of all life, you know our anxiety and fear. Lighten our burden by reminding us of your cure for all of your children. Strengthen us with the love and peace you promise us, in Jesus’ name we pray. Amen.

The Blessing

May the Lord bless you Oliver Lawrence and by that blessing strengthen you. May the blessing we have blessed you with assure us of God’s grace. Amen.

All: Our Father who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name, thy kingdom come, thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil. For thine is the kingdom and the power, and the glory, for ever and ever. Amen.

Leader: God of love, ever caring, creating spirit, stand by us in this time of need. We thank you for the miracle of this boy. Watch over him in every danger and strengthen him. In Christ’s name we pray. Amen.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Susan Wesson permalink

    No-one could ever be offended by faith, caring and love.

  2. Aunt Diane permalink

    Amen

Leave a Reply

