Skip to content

He’s here! July 2, 2012

July 3, 2012

Oliver Lawrence Wesson is here! He arrived at 12:26 pm after a terrifyingly short labour weighing in at a big 7lbs 4ozs and 20 inches , 6 days before his due date! I was pretty sure my contractions were just me having to go to the bathroom, but luckily I timed them and quickly realized it might be the real thing. We threw Poppy in the car, fully prepared to be sent home, and came to Mt Sinai. By the time we’d checked in I realized it was real and got my mom to come get her.

I kept telling everyone I had a fast labour but I’m not sure anyone believed me. I was a bit panicked that all the doctors we needed weren’t going to get here in time! By the time they’d put the epidural in I was fully dilated and ready to push (this was about 2 hours after arriving) so sadly it didn’t take. We raced over to the OR and I instantly became crazy. I cried and said I wasn’t pushing. “He’s safe inside me so you’re going to have to do a C-section, I just can’t push.” That’s right, crazy. Luckily they said no, and also refused my insane demands for them to use a vacuum, give me an episiotomy & just pull him out. All the way insane. He was out in 6 contractions and they let me give him a quick kiss before they whisked him off to the baby OR. It was magical.

A little less than 2 hours later they let us see him and he was a beautiful pink colour. We got to take photos, and touch him, and we mostly kept it together. Then they took him in the tunnel to Sick Kids. Tim was allowed over at 3:00. He stayed stable, which was fantastic. The 50% figure is based on kids who make it there, so he’s passed his first hurdle!

He’s hooked up to about 1,000,000 machines (High Frequency Ventilator, all kids of monitors, etc.) and is on a zillion medicines (Nitric Oxide, Epinephrine, Norepinephrine, etc.) and is doing as well as they expect CDH babies to do. From what I gather his responses are quite typical. He had his echo cardiogram today which took 3 hours! He didn’t like it so they had to keep taking breaks. He’s a feisty little guy so he’s got his morphine & an hourly dose of muscle relaxant to force him to co-operate and not pull out all his tubes!

He is absolutely gorgeous. He looks just like his sister and I am head over heels in love with him. He’s perfect. His little feet are so lovely. His wrists are gorgeous. He’s got beautiful eyes. Totally smitten. Think good thoughts for my little Oliver. Thank you to everyone who already is, we are totally overwhelmed by how kind everyone’s been, even strangers! And we know it’s helping. We love every single one of you.

20120703-003155.jpg
Isn’t he lovely?

20120703-003242.jpg
Daddy kisses

20120703-003327.jpg
His whole set up

20120703-003403.jpg
Getting his echo

From → birth

10 Comments
  1. Praying for Oliver!! I am here anytime you need to talk!

    Love,
    Liz

    http://www.finleyanabelle.wordpress.com

  2. Leslie permalink

    Come on, Oliver! Praying for you, little buddy. Fight fight fight!
    Leslie
    http://www.babybeehelms.blogspot.com

  3. Lisa permalink

    He made it through the night :-)) …..he is gorgeous…..!!!! continued prayers your family’s way :-))

  4. Many congratulations! He is gorgeous. Come on Oliver, lets kick some serious CDH butt!!

    Anu
    http://ourcdhherolittlea.wordpress.com/

  5. He is beautiful, Alex… and his strong will and mind will help him get through this! Much love ❤

  6. Athenea permalink

    All the pictures brought me to tears. They reminded me the time Maya spent at Sick Kids. Baby Oliver is already a fighter just like his mommy. Try to ask for sugar water whenever possible instead

    • Athenea permalink

      Instead of the dreadful morphines, drugs and all the poking. Maya liked to suck on my finger to give her additional comfort while they did all the tests. He’s so beautiful!

  7. Jayme Lunt permalink

    Alex, Tim & Poppy,

    Oliver is absolutely perfect! Congrats to all of you. Oliver has a fighting personality and is going to surpass all the doctors expectations I just know it. Lots of Love to all of you xoxo

  8. Debbie permalink

    Love and Prayers to you guys! You are amazing and strong! Go Oliver Go! Congrats Poppy you are a big sister!!!

  9. Jill MacNaughton permalink

    Hi Alex – this is Jill MacNaughton and John Lute (Emily Taylor’s cousin). We just want to say congratulations on your beautiful boy. We’re following your blog and you’re all in our prayers.
    -Jill and John

Leave a Reply

