Skip to content

Two months to go: May 7, 2012

May 7, 2012

In exactly 2 months from tomorrow, Little Man is due to make his appearance! I’m torn between being really excited and being really scared.

On the one hand I can’t wait to see his little face, his little fingers and toes, and to meet the man behind all this drama. We can get started on the fight, and hopefully get closer to winning it and bringing our little guy home. The sooner he’s here the sooner we can know how this ends. Not to mention, now that I’m officially in my eighth month, I’m exhausted, uncomfortable and a bit tired of the heartburn.

On the other hand, as long as he’s inside me he’s safe. He doesn’t need his lungs when I can breathe for him. He’s alive, he’s happy, and he doesn’t know he’s not healthy. He kicks and punches and squirms and I’ve got him safely snuggled up where I can protect him. The longer he’s inside cooking, the healthier he’ll be and the better he’ll do, and I’d be willing to endure any amount of unpleasantness to keep him safe.

At the doctor today everything is looking perfect. He’s about 3lb 11oz, which is the 50th percentile, but like last time that is not corrected for his skinny tummy. He’s probably actually bigger. The ultrasound technician said he looks like he’ll be tall πŸ™‚ He’s exactly normal on everything and so am I. We’ve got a totally normal amniotic fluid level, which is fantastic because CDH mommas are at risk of pre-term labour due to high fluid levels. Normal is 5-25 and we’re 14. Perfect! His biophysical profile score, which is like a prenatal apgar score, is 8/8. My weight and his are climbing steadily and healthily and everyone is happy. I’m doing my best to be happy about gaining weight πŸ˜‰

We talked again about induction, still not sure whether we’ll do it or not. Doc says second babies are usually half a pound bigger, a week earlier and an hour shorter in labour. Because Poppy came so fast (2.5 hours) we might want to induce but the longer he cooks the better, so we don’t know or need to know yet. FYI, she was 7lbs 1oz and a day early in case anyone wants to start a pool πŸ˜‰

His little hand is tucked up under his chin like The Thinker.

20120507-145036.jpg

Waving to his sister.

20120507-145109.jpg

The view from outside.

20120507-145137.jpg

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Caroline permalink

    Eee the “hi poppy!!” is so so so cute! And that photo of you is beautiful. I love this post so much. ❀ Love you sister. You are the very best.

  2. Raizee permalink

    Beautiful Alex! I’m always thinking positive thoughts for your little man! Can’t wait to see pictures of him πŸ™‚

  3. Robin and Cam :D permalink

    You are a wonderfully beautiful pregnant woman (seriously that is NOT a compliment I use lightly) and a wonderful mother… Poppy is fab, and so will the wee man be…. If he’s half as hip as his Pa, he’ll be lucky. CAN’T WAIT!!!!!!! MUCH love from FAR!

  4. Asia permalink

    You look amazing! xo

  5. Jennifer permalink

    I have been reading you blog that I found off of babycenter and I remember having those same thoughts before my son was born. I too knew he was safe while he was in my stomach. Lee who is now three was born on my due date and I had polyhydromnios so bad. Which I am very grateful for because other wise they would have never know something was wrong as Lee’s defect came later in my pregnancy. He was the first two day old baby in the southeast to have the laproscopic repair and it couldn’t have gone any better. Oh and he was 9lbs 10 oz and I didn’t have gestational diabetes or anything. You will look back after you hold your child and this nightmare is over and thank God for getting you through. God really speaks through so many people and situations we just have to be listening, just like your radio experience. the things that they can do today for their lungs and for the repair is amazing. The only thing my son has struggled with is reflux for the first year of his life. He is beautiful and healthy and amazing. I think the best thing we can do as parents is to be educated, which it sounds like is exactly what you are doing, and LISTEN TO YOUR EVER INTUITION! You and your family are in my prayers. Please feel free to email me with any questions. There were no where near as many blogs and this out their three years ago and I would hAve loved havinng someone to answer some of my questions. Any way sorry for being so long winded but your story really hit home so I felt compelled to write. Take care and God bless.

  6. Wishing you the best for your little man. My son with CDH received his life saving treatment from Sick Kids 4.5 years ago.

Leave a Reply

