Skip to content

Echo results: April 9, 2012

April 9, 2012

Today little man had his fetal echocardiogram done. It was an Easter miracle, his heart looks fine! It’s pushed all the way against the right wall, but we knew that. Other than that it is perfect, which is great because any complications would reduce his odds. I’m pretty sure this is directly related to me not eating chocolate for 40 days which was actually 46 because apparently Sundays don’t count. But they sure feel like they count when you’re pregnant and want chocolate!
Uncle Dave talked to his colleagues who do TO surgery and they said little man wouldn’t be a candidate for them because he is “intermediate”, not “severe”. But they also said to talk it over with Dr Langer who, like everyone else, they have great faith in. So we’re waiting for Wednesday. We’ll see Dr Langer, Dr Ryan, and Dr Cox who is in charge of the PICU at Sick Kids and he will give us a tour. I’m sure it’ll be hard but I’m looking forward to it. It was hard going to my car today because I realized I’m going to have to be leaving my baby every day when he’s there and that is going to be really really tough. I keep reminding myself that having a sick baby is SO much better than the alternative.
I’ve been having a hard time lately but knowing you all care so much and that we have so many amazing people sending positive vibes his way is helping a lot. I know those vibes work. Thank you.

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. The Diggle Family permalink

    Alex, wonderful to read your beautiful blog, and to be able to share in praying for your wee boy and amazing support. Wish we could be closer to help more, but know you are all in our hearts. Keep us posted x

  2. Cathy Taylor permalink

    Alex, Tim …. You are both amazing and we are so proud of your spirit.
    Loads of love and positive thoughts your way.
    Aunt Cathy

  3. Rejeanne permalink

    HI Alex,

    Thank you so much for creating this website. I can only imagine how hard it is for you to keep repeating the same information. I have been praying for your “little man”. I’m happy that his heart is doing well. And that he has an amazing team who is going to help him every step of the way. You are so strong and brave. He is very lucky to have a mom like you!
    Rejeanne

  4. the judsons permalink

    Alex, our prayers and thoughts are with both you and Tim during this trying time. I know mike already told Tim last night over the phone but if you need ANYTHING pls don’t hesitate to call on us. Positivity and love can go along way and, after reading your blog, you clearly have a lot of both. We are thinking of you guys xoxo

  5. Alex Mac permalink

    I love this post. I love your positivity, and that his heart is doing well, and I love your love of chocolate.

    And you won’t be leaving him alone at the hospital every day, one day you’ll be taking him back home with you, and everything that happens between now and then will seem like a haze, and you’ll only be able to recall it by re-reading this blog.

  6. Asia permalink

    Love you Alex

Leave a Reply

